JACTIM Outline

In 1983, JACTIM, The Japanese Chamber of Trade & Industry, Malaysia, was established with the objective of promoting economic relations between Malaysia and Japan, in the areas of international trading, commerce, industry and investment, as well as with the aim of protecting the interests of Japanese companies and promoting mutual friendship and social interaction among member companies.



JACTIM has 588 Ordinary members and 16 Overseas members as of the end of January 2017. We have General Committee, which is headed by the President, assisted by 6 Vice Presidents, 50 Board of Directors, 3 advisors, 2 internal Auditors and the Secretary-General.

JACTIM has 19 Committee & Group Meetings in order to facilitate the exchange of opinions, information and ideas between members and the Malaysian government.


< Committee Meeting>

1.     Administration

2.     Public Relations

3.     Trade & Investment

4.     Management Affairs

5.     Research

6.     International Cultural Exchange

7.     SMI

8.     Financial


< Group Meeting>

1.     Manufacturing(Food, Chemical, Commodity, etc)

2.     Manufacturing(Steel & Iron, Metal, Machinery, etc)

3.     Manufacturing(Electric, Machine & Apparatus)

4.     Trade

5.     Finance

6.     Construction

7.     Service


< Regional Group Meeting>

1.     Penang

2.     Johor

3.     Perak

4.     Malacca


JACTIM- Our Main Activities



Over the decades, JACTIM has been attending key dialogue sessions with MITI, MDTCC, MOF and other government agencies. Relevant proposals aimed at promoting commerce and economic cooperation between Malaysia and Japan are discussed through JACTIM Committee meetings and subsequently tabled and presented to the Government department for approval and implementation.




JACTIM FOUNDATION was established in 1994 for the purpose of contributing to Malaysian cultural, social and educational development, and to help strengthen the mutual understanding and friendship between Malaysia and Japan- through various activities.

* Environmental support (Total: RM1,028,000)
* National Symphony Orchestra (NSO) of Malaysia Aid (Total: RM1,030,000)
* Japan Studies Programme at University of Malaya (Total: RM1,029,000)
* Japanese Language & Culture Programme at Residential Schools (Total: RM249,000)
* Malaysian Paralympic Council (MPC) Assistance Programme (Total:RM920,000)
* Supporting & Improving Public Welfare at Remote Areas (Total: RM401,000)
* Regional Support- Special Welfare Needs (Total: RM323,500)
* Negeri Sembilan Family Planning Association (NSFPA) Support (Total: RM48,500)
* Cyber Putra College (CPC) Support (Total: RM80,000)
* Day Schools Aid (Total: RM100,000)
* Agape Centre Sarawak Support (Total: RM100,000)
* Malaysia-Japan International Institute of Technology (MJIIT) Support (Total: RM145,000)
* Sponsorship For Look East Policy International Seminar (Total: RM39,000)
* The Tun Hussein Onn National Eye Hospital (THONEH) Support (Total: RM25,000)
* Special Activity In Conjunction With JACTIM 20th Anniversary- BAKTI Donation (Total: RM100,000)



JACTIM has been organizing Career Fairs in collaboration with universities in Malaysia since 2005.

2005 - UTM (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia)

2006 - MMU (Multimedia University)

2007 & 2008 - UTM (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia), MMU (Multimedia University), UM (University of Malaya)

2009 - UTM (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia), MMU (Multimedia University)

2010 - MMU (Multimedia University)

2011 - UTM (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia), UTAR (Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman)

2012 - UTAR (Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman)

Besides the universities, JACTIM has also organized the Career Fair in collaboration with ADTEC Shah Alam, since 2009. ADTEC specializes in providing technical and formal training for semi-skilled and skilled workers that cater to the needs of small and medium industries.


JACTIM Presidents- Past & Present

For the past 30 years, JACTIM has been helmed by a number of highly capable Presidents- wholeheartedly dedicated to the vision and mission of JACTIM.

*1st President >> 1983-1984
Mr. Shigeo Matsumoto
(Ajinomoto Malaysia)

*2nd President >> 1984-2006
Tan Sri Datuk (Dr.) Kazumasa Suzuki
(Mitsui & Co/Tejana Trading)

*3rd President >> 2006-2008
Mr. Sadao Segi

*4th President >> 2008-2009
Mr. Michihiko Tsunoda
(Mitsui & Co.)

*5th President >> 2009-2012
YBhg Datuk Takashi Hibi
(Toyota Motor)

*6th President >> 2012-2013. 9
Mr. Masato Nakamura
(Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (Malaysia) Bhd)

*7th President >> 2013.9-2014.4
Mr. Shuichi Yoshida
(Mitsui & Co. (Asia Pacific) Pte. Ltd. Ltd., Kuala Lumpur Branch)

*8th President >> 2014.4-2015.12
Mr. Toshiro Okamoto
(Panasonic Management Malaysia Sdn Bhd)

*9th President>> 2015.12-Present
Mr. Toshihiko Todokoro
 (Mitsui & Co.(Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd., Kuala Lumpur)